About the Museum
The palace and park ensemble of Pavlovsk is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and was created in the heyday of Russian classicism of the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Pavlovsk Park is a unique monument of landscape art and at 543 hectares, it's the largest landscape park in Europe. The Pavlovsk collections historically appeared at his first owners , Tsesarevich Paul and his wife Maria Feodorovna. They have had the famous trip to Europe under the names Count and Countess Severny in the years 1781-1782, where they visited workshops of well-known artists, ordering and acquiring paintings, furniture, bronze, silk fabrics, china sets, etc. Paul and Maria also brought to Russia a large number of antique sculptures from Italy, and gifts from European royal courts. Many of these treasures are on display, together with an excellent collection of portraits accomplished by Russian artists, and a number of Pavlovsk landscape paintings and drawings. Modern works of art, coming in a variety of ways to Pavlovsk, influenced to the nature of decorative solutions interiors of the Palace.
(Photo: Wikipedia: Alex 'Florstein' Fedorov)