About the Museum
The German Museum for the Blind (Deutsches Blinden-Museum) is devoted to the history of the blind and visually impaired in Germany. The museum offers a fascinating collection of photos, devices and visual aids that document the socio-historical, pedagogical and integrative aspects of that history. Founded in 1890 under Karl Wulff at the “Königlichen Blindenanstalt zu Steglitz" ("Imperial Facility for the Blind in Steglitz"), the Museum of the Blind was given its own building at today's location in 1906. Roughly one thousand objects show the development of the world of the blind and the ongoing technical progress in terms of aids for the blind and visually impaired. One section of the exhibition is devoted to Louis Braille and the script named after him. The museum also thematises vocational education for the blind and visually impaired throughout history. It is home to many teaching materials for the blind as well as tools for their integration into professional workplaces. Another section of the exhibition focuses on the field of recreational activities and displays handicrafts and artistic work created by the blind and visually impaired.